Who's who in the Scottish Parliament

The Scottish Electorate

  • Anyone living in Scotland who is over 16 years old and on the Electoral Register
  • The electorate vote for MSPs


  • There are 129 MSPs (Members of the Scottish Parliament) elected by the Scottish people:
  • 73 constituency MSPs, and 56 regional MSPs (7 for each of the 8 regions)
  • Each person therefore has 8 MSPs to represent them in Parliament.
  • MSPs vote for the Presiding Officer and the First Minister

Presiding Officer

  • One MSP is elected to chair the meetings of Parliament.

First Minister

  • MSPs vote for the First Minister.
  • The First Minister is head of the Scottish Government and has overall responsibility for the policies (proposals) of the Government.
  • The First Minister must ensure that these policies are implemented (put in place).
  • The First Minister represents the Government in the media and at official meetings.
  • The First Minister selects the MSPs who will be in the Government.

Scottish Government

  • The Scottish Government is the government in Scotland for all devolved matters.
  • The Scottish Government is formed by the party or parties holding the majority of seats in Parliament.
  • The MSPs in the Government are called ‘Scottish Ministers’.

MSPs block

Current MSPs

Details of your Constituency and Regional MSPs including their parliamentary activities and contact details.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.