Justice Sub-Committee on policing sets out work programme


A focus on the ICT provision for the new single police force kicked off the Justice sub-committee on policing’s work programme yesterday, when it heard from representatives from the Scottish Police Authority and Police Scotland.

Established to oversee the operation of the Police and Fire Reform (Scotland) Act 2012 as it relates to policing, the sub-committee announced today that it will scrutinise the following areas as part of its work programme over the coming months.

These are, national policing and joining up ICT provision; complaints and investigations handling; local policing; budget allocations and savings; relationships between Police Service of Scotland, Scottish Police Authority and the Scottish Government and finally, the impact of reform on police staff, officers and communities.

Justice Sub-Committee Convener Christine Grahame MSP said:

“I am delighted that we have such a wealth and range of experience of sub-committee members who come from a legal, police, police board and local government background.

“We are here to use our professional knowledge and experience in scrutinising the on-going operation of Scotland’s powerful single national police force. It is our job to ask the awkward but vital questions on how well, how quickly and how efficiently the integration of the national police force is progressing.

“In light of early concerns regarding the relationship between the two, we will also continue to monitor the working relationship between the Chief Constable of the Police Service of Scotland and its overseeing body the Scottish Police Authority.”


Sub-Committee members are comprised of six MSPs, with members drawn from SNP, Labour, Liberal Democrat, Conservative and Green/Independent parties. Members have been selected from the Justice Committee, Local Government and Regeneration Committee and Equal Opportunities Committee to represent these committees’ interests in policing.

They are Christine Grahame MSP; Alison McInnes MSP; Graeme Pearson MSP; John Finnie MSP; Kevin Stewart MSP and Margaret Mitchell MSP.

More information on the Justice sub-committee on policing can be found here:


Contact information

Media information

Committee information

Public information

  • Telephone enquiry line: 0800 092 7500 or 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)
  • info@parliament.scot
  • Text 07786 209 888
  • Ask a question online through live chat
  • We also welcome calls using the Text Relay service or in British Sign Language through contactSCOTLAND-BSL

Keep up to date with us on:

keep up to date with what's happening in Parliament on Facebook Follow the Scottish Parliament on Twitter @ScotParl keep up to date with what's 
happening in Parliament on YouTube

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.