Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy to return to Scottish Parliament in 2013


The Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy ceremony is to return to the Scottish Parliament in October 2013 in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the Carnegie UK Trust.  The event will be accompanied by a series of public debates and discussions on international philanthropy.  The Carnegie Medal ceremony will take place on Thursday 17 October 2013.

The announcement follows a meeting between the Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP and Vartan Gregorian, President of Carnegie Corporation of New York and Chair of the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy Selection Committee.  

The Scottish Parliament in partnership with Carnegie Trusts last hosted the ceremony at the home of the Scottish Parliament, Holyrood, in 2005, when Sir Tom Farmer was presented with an award alongside the Cadbury family; Agnes Gund; the Hewlett family; His Highness, the Aga Khan; and the Packard family.  All other gatherings have taken place in the United States.

Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP, who is in New York as part of Scotland Week, said:

“The Scottish Parliament at Holyrood is not only an iconic building it has now firmly established itself as an effective platform for debate both domestically and internationally.  This fact, together with the great success of the 2005 ceremony, has led the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy Selection Committee to return to Holyrood for this prestigious event.  The Scottish Parliament is the only venue outside of the USA ever to host the ceremony, which makes today’s announcement all the more significant. 

“Andrew Carnegie’s philanthropic efforts have motivated generations over the years.  Working with the Carnegie UK Trust, we aim to capture and celebrate the spirit of these endeavours in the public programme of debates and discussions to run alongside the ceremony.”

President Vartan Gregorian commented:  

“It was with great joy that, in 2005, the 22 organizations that carry on Andrew Carnegie’s legacy chose to hold the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy ceremony at Holyrood. 

“This decision was made in tribute to Andrew Carnegie’s homeland, his philanthropic work, and the organizations that carry out his mission in the United Kingdom—the Carnegie UK Trust, the Carnegie Dunfermline & Hero Fund Trusts, and the Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland. 

“We look forward to our return to Scotland for the next Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy awards and we are especially pleased that the 2013 ceremony will coincide with the centennial of the Carnegie UK Trust, one of Andrew Carnegie’s most significant contributions to philanthropy.  Carnegie Corporation of New York, which is currently marking the Centennial of its founding by Mr. Carnegie, is honored, as always, to work with its sister organizations, as well as the Scottish Parliament, to recognize the extraordinary philanthropy of Andrew Carnegie, whose generosity has enriched the lives of so many in the United States, in Scotland, and around the world.  The Selection Committee is working diligently to nominate medalists who embody the tradition of giving exemplified by Scotland’s own Andrew Carnegie.  We’re delighted once again to be welcomed to the beautiful Scottish Parliament at Holyrood.”

William Thomson, Honorary Chair, Carnegie UK Trust; Honorary Chair of the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy Selection Committee and great grandson of Andrew Carnegie said:

"I am delighted the Carnegie Medals of Philanthropy ceremony and associated events will return to the Scottish Parliament in October 2013.  In that year the Carnegie UK Trust will celebrate its 100th anniversary and it is most appropriate the family of Carnegie foundations will gather in Edinburgh.  I am sure my great Grandfather would have been enormously proud of the achievements of his foundations around the world."


The Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy (external website) was established in 2001 to mark the centennial of Andrew Carnegie’s formal philanthropy. Medalists are nominated by all the Carnegie organisations throughout the United States and Europe, and selected by a Committee comprised of representatives of six of those institutions.

The Medal is awarded every two years to recognise individuals and families with exceptional and sustained records of philanthropic giving. Awardees’ philanthropic records embody Andrew Carnegie’s ideals that with wealth comes responsibility, and private wealth should serve the public good.

The Selection committee for the 7th Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy is composed of four permanent members—Carnegie Corporation of New York, the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Carnegie Institution for Science, and the Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland—and two rotating members who join the committee each award cycle. This year’s selection committee includes the Carnegie UK Trust and the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission. 

Further details about the ceremony and the programme of public events will be announced in due course.

Contact information


Public information

  • Telephone: 0800 092 7500
  • Textphone users can contact us on 0800 092 7100. We also welcome calls using the Text Relay service.
  • Text message: 07786 209888

You can also follow us on twitter @scotparl

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.