School children to compete in Euroquiz final at the Parliament


Primary school children from across Scotland will gather in the Scottish Parliament’s Debating Chamber on Monday 6 June, to compete in the annual Euroquiz final, testing their knowledge of European affairs.

Teams of 6 pupils from 30 local authority areas will take part in the competition. The primary six pupils will answer questions on a range of subjects including history, culture and sport in a bid to win the top trophy prize.

The Scottish European Educational Trust (SEET) has been running the quiz since its establishment in 1993, and aims to promote and encourage education about Europe to students throughout Scotland. The event is sponsored by Standard Life, and it’s the fourth year the event has been held in the Chamber of the Scottish Parliament.

Deputy Presiding Officer Elaine Smith MSP will act as quizmaster and Chair, with Chairman of SEET Gerald Wilson, Standard Life’s Group People & Transformation Director Sandy Begbie and the Head of the European Parliament’s Office in Scotland James Temple-Smithson, all scheduled to speak at the event.

Deputy Presiding Officer Elaine Smith MSP said:

“I am delighted to be chairing this year’s Euroquiz final and to be involved in a nationwide competition that encourages young people in Scotland to build up their knowledge of our European neighbours.”

All schools participating in the quiz have already competed and won their local heat, and will now have the chance to compete against the winners of all the other heats in the final.

Rona Doig, Group Sustainability, Standard Life said:

“Standard Life is delighted to sponsor this year's Euroquiz. The Scottish European Educational Trust work extremely hard throughout the regional heats and the final to deliver an excellent event. Although the primary focus is on expanding the pupil's knowledge of Europe, the whole experience helps them to develop valuable communication and teamworking skills.”

SEET Chairman, Gerald Wilson added:

"The Euroquiz ticks so many educational and other boxes, not least the opportunity for primary school children to experience the excitement of competing in the Chamber of the Scottish Parliament."

Jose Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission, also commented:

"It is with great pleasure that I congratulate all the teams who have reached the national final of the 2011 Scottish European Educational Trust's Euroquiz. The quiz represents a great opportunity each year for children in Scotland to learn more about European history and culture. I wish the greatest success to all the finalists and hope that taking part sparks lifelong interest among them in European matters."



The 30 Scottish primary schools taking part in the Euroquiz final 2011 are:

  • Abercromby - Clackmannanshire & Dunblane / Mid-Scotland and Fife
  • Alloway - Ayr / South Scotland
  • Ancrum Road - Dundee City West / North East Scotland
  • Applegrove – Moray / Highlands and Islands
  • Bridge of Weir - Renfrewshire North & West / West Scotland
  • Cairneyhill – Dunfermline / Mid-Scotland and Fife
  • Drymen - Stirling / Mid-Scotland and Fife
  • Dunbar - East Lothian / South Scotland
  • Eastfield - Cumbernauld & Kilsyth / Central Scotland
  • Edinburgh Academy - Edinburgh Central / Lothian
  • Kirknewton - Almond Valley / Lothian
  • Laxdale - Na h-Eileanan an lar / Highlands and Islands
  • Milngavie - Clydebank & Milngavie / West Scotland
  • Newington - Dumfriesshire / South Scotland
  • Newtonhill - Aberdeen South & North Kincardine / North East Scotland
  • North Kessock - Skye, Lochaber & Badenoch / Highlands and Islands
  • Northmuir - Angus South / North East Scotland
  • Notre Dame - Glasgow Kelvin / Glasgow
  • Sandwick Junior High - Shetland / Highlands and Islands
  • Shieldhill - Falkirk East / Central Scotland
  • Silverwood - Kilmarnock & Irvine Valley / South Scotland
  • St Andrew’s - Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale / Lothian
  • St Columba’s - Argyll & Bute / Highlands and Islands
  • St John’s - Greenock &Inverclyde / West Scotland
  • St Kenneth’s - East Kilbride / Central Scotland
  • St Joseph’s - Eastwood / West Scotland
  • St Mary’s Duntocher - Clydebank & Milngavie / West Scotland
  • St Peter’s Aberdeen - Aberdeen Central / North East Scotland
  • St Peter’s Scottish Borders - Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale / Lothian
  • West Kilbride - Cunninghame North / West Scotland

Last year the Euroquiz was won by St Mary’s Duntocher, West Dunbartonshire, who also won the quiz in 2009.

Members of the media who would like to attend the quiz can watch from the media gallery in the Parliament’s Debating Chamber.

Images from the event will be available for download from Tuesday 7 June via the photo gallery website, details as follows:

Gallery: Euroquiz 2011
Password: edinburgh

The winning school will be announced on the Scottish Parliament’s website and in a news release issued by SEET after the event on Monday 6 June, including a photograph of the winning team.

The contact at SEET for members of the media is:
Barbara Macleod: 0131 557 9886 / 07903693106

Standard Life has worked in partnership with SEET since 2006 to support Euroquiz as part of their Corporate Responsibility work in the community and commitment to supporting education. SEET is a registered charity established in 1993.

For public information enquiries, contact :
Telephone: 0800 092 7500
Textphone users can contact us on 0800 092 7100. We also welcome calls using the Text Relay service.

Text message: 07786 209888

You can now also follow us on twitter @scotparl

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.