Schools' magazine winners to get inside story on Holyrood


Seven schools from across Scotland were today recognised at the Scottish School Magazine of the Year Awards – and received a unique invitation to get the inside story on the Scottish Parliament

The young people picked up their awards at a special ceremony hosted by TV presenter Carole Smillie today in the Members’ restaurant, Holyrood.

In recognition of their talent, the Parliament has offered the winners of the awards insider access to the historic event on 30 June.

The young people will get to exercise their creative talents by reporting for their publications on the unique historic ceremony, which will mark the third session of the Scottish Parliament by Her Majesty The Queen.

The ceremony will start with an address in the Chamber by Her Majesty The Queen to the newly elected MSPs and guests, followed by a Riding – marking the old Scots tradition where members of the public and the newly elected Members come together.

The day will be completed with a free open air concert in the Parliament’s landscaped gardens to celebrate today’s Scotland , where the acts will include live music, drama and dance.

Presiding Officer Alex Fergusson MSP said:

"On behalf of the Scottish Parliament we are delighted to invite these creative and talented young people to join in our celebration of today’s Scotland first hand. They will be able to offer their school a unique perspective on the day when they report back in their own words what the day meant to them.”

The winning schools and publications were:

Best Commercial Strategy presented by Presiding Officer, Alex Fergusson MSP collected by Matthew Sheerin from St. Margaret’s High School, Airdrie.

Best Online Presence presented by Ken Robertson, MCL Edinburgh collected by Bradley Johnstone from Lawside Academy in Dundee.

Best Design and Layout presented by John O’Rourke, Clash Magazine collected by Morgen Mackenzie of Kilsyth Academy.

Best Written Article presented by Justin Chater, Chairman of PPA Scotland collected by Jenny Grant on behalf of Christine MacLeod of Aberdeen Grammar school.

Outstanding Individual presented by Steve Craven, End of Term magazine collected by Xin Ran Liu of Boroughmuir High School.

Best Magazine title and cover presented by Robin Hodge, The List collected by Laura Mason of Stromness Academy.

Best Editorial Content and Team by Mandy Rhodes, Holyrood Magazine collected by Ishbel Eunson of Portobello High School.

Scottish School Magazine of the Year presented by Maureen Watt MSP, Minister for Schools & Skills collected by Xin Ran Liu of Boroughmuir High School.

The competition was organised by The Periodical Publishers Association (PPA) in Scotland and supported by the Scottish Executive’s Determined to Succeed Division.

The Scottish School Magazine Competition aims to further develop the enterprise and entrepreneurial skills of young people through active participation in the development of a magazine from idea generation to product completion.

This participation also helps to develop young people’s self-confidence, self-reliance and ambition to achieve their goal and gives them a real taste for the world of media – aims that are entirely consistent with the Scottish Executive’s Determined to Succeed strategy.


Winners will get to take part in one of the two elements of the opening event – the address in the Chamber by Her Majesty The Queen to the newly elected MSPs and guests, and the Riding – which will be made up of more than 1,200 people from throughout Scotland highlighting achievements in the fields of education, enterprise, science and nature, society, sport and culture and the international arena.

The Periodical Publishers Association (PPA), the organisation for magazine and business & professional media publishers in the UK has been promoting the interests of magazine publishers for more than 90 years. Over 500 companies are members of PPA.

PPA Scotland, the Scottish arm of the association, represents some 35 member organisations from the Scottish magazine and publishing industry and is chaired by Justin Chater , Director of Pinpoint Scotland, Edinburgh. PPA Scotland is administered by Kathy Crawford, Business Manager.

For more information about PPA please visit:

The overall winning school will attend the Scottish Magazine Awards, which will be held at Our Dynamic Earth, Edinburgh on Thursday 29 November 2007. 

In addition, publishers and suppliers continue to support the winners through sponsorship, mentoring, presentations and work experience over the coming months. 

For more information see the Scottish Executive’s Determined to Succeed programme  

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.