Public invited to take part in opening of Parliament


Members of the public are invited to be part of the events marking the opening of the Fourth Session of the Scottish Parliament on 1 July. Eight pairs of tickets are available, one for each of the parliamentary regions of Scotland.

New Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body elected


Parliament today elected four Members to serve on the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB).

Guide to selection of nominees for appointment as First Minister, Ministers and Junior Ministers


This note sets out information on the appointment process for the First Minister and Scottish Ministers.

MSPs asked to nominate their local heroes


A nationwide search for local heroes from across Scotland is launched today by all 129 Members of the Scottish Parliament.

Elaine Smith MSP and John Scott MSP elected as Deputy Presiding Officers


Following the election of Tricia Marwick MSP as the Scottish Parliament's Presiding Officer, a further secret ballot of Members saw Elaine Smith MSP and John Scott MSP elected as Deputy Presiding Officers.

Tricia Marwick MSP elected as the Scottish Parliament’s first female Presiding Officer


Tricia Marwick MSP (Mid Fife and Glenrothes) was today elected as the Scottish Parliament’s first female Presiding Officer, promising to be "fair to all Members".

Kirking of the Parliament


The Kirking of the Parliament takes place on Tuesday 10 May in St Giles’ Cathedral, Edinburgh. His Royal Highness The Earl of Wessex will be joined by newly elected MSPs, representatives of Scotland’s faiths and other guests from across Scotland.

Fourth Session: A guide to the election of the Presiding Officer and Deputy Presiding Officers


The Scotland Act 1998 requires the Parliament to elect a Presiding Officer and two deputies at its first meeting.

Fourth Session: A guide to the taking of the Oath of Allegiance or Solemn Affirmation


Under the terms of the Scotland Act 1998 Sections 84(1) and 84(2), a person who is returned as a member of the Scottish Parliament cannot take part in parliamentary proceedings until he or she has taken the oath of allegiance or made a solemn affirmation.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.