Youth Parliament to sit at Holyrood


Scottish Parliament Presiding Officer Alex Fergusson MSP will be joined by the recent winner of Big Brother Celebrity Hijack John Loughton to welcome more than 150 Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) to their two-day March sitting at the Scottish Parliament on Saturday (1 March).

Mr Fergusson will host and chair the Saturday session in the Chamber, which will feature a keynote speech from Cabinet Secretary for Education and Lifelong Learning Fiona Hyslop MSP and a Question and Answer session involving MSPs from across the political spectrum.

Presiding Officer Alex Fergusson MSP said:

“We are pleased to welcome back the Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament and look forward to robust and lively debate on a range of issues.

“Young people have an important role to play in the democratic process and I’m sure MSYPs will make the most of this opportunity to ensure their voices are heard.”

Members of the public are welcome to view part of the Saturday morning session of the event in the Debating Chamber between 11.00am and 1.00pm. Pre-booking is not required.

Background information

The MSPs involved in Saturday’s cross party question and answer session are Rhona Brankin MSP, Gavin Brown MSP, Robin Harper MSP, Fiona Hyslop MSP and Margo MacDonald MSP.

The SYP works to highlight the voice of young people on a national and international stage. More information can be found on the SYP website:

The Holyrood sitting is one of four held each year by the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) at a range of different locations. Launched at Edinburgh’s Murrayfield Stadium in 1999, the SYP comprises more than 150 young people aged between 14 and 25 years and representing every constituency from across Scotland.

Web casting

The morning event on Saturday 1 March in the Debating Chamber will be web cast live from 10.00am until 1.00pm on

Photo opportunity

A photo opportunity will take place at 11.00am on Saturday (1 March) involving the participating MSPs and more than 100 Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.