New Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body elected


The Scottish Parliament today (Thursday) elected four Members to serve on the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB).

The Corporate Body considers and makes decisions on a wide range of issues to do with the running of the Parliament including the financing of the Parliament and allocation of the budget, the staffing of the Parliament, accommodation and the use and security of Parliamentary facilities at Holyrood.

Elections for the membership of the SPCB took place in Holyrood’s Debating Chamber at 9.15am this morning, when MSPs elected the following candidates: Alex Johnstone MSP, Tom McCabe MSP, Tricia Marwick MSP and Mike Pringle MSP.

The Presiding Officer Alex Fergusson MSP, who will chair the SPCB, said:

"This new session brings new challenges – and a new Corporate Body to help meet them. I look forward to working with my colleagues in executing the key priority of the Corporate Body and its staff - making sure that the Scottish Parliament can operate effectively and that MSPs can carry out their duties."

Alex Johnstone, MSP for North East Scotland, said:

"I am looking forward to the challenge of making sure the Parliament has the resources and systems in place to work effectively for the people of Scotland . I am keen to get down to business alongside my colleagues.”

Following his election, Tom McCabe, MSP for Hamilton South, said:

"The Corporate Body plays an important role in the delivery of cost-effective services for the whole Parliament. I am delighted my colleagues have seen fit to elect me to serve on it.”

Tricia Marwick, MSP for Central Fife, added:

"This is an important and responsible role and I look forward to ensuring the delivery of high quality services to Members and the Scottish people.”

Mike Pringle, MSP for Edinburgh South, added:

"I am honoured to accept this important role. I intend to play my part in ensuring the Parliament meets the needs of Members and staff.”


The Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB) is the statutory body (also known as the ‘Parliamentary corporation’) which performs various functions, as set out in the Scotland Act 1998, including arranging for the provision of the Parliament’s staff, property and services.

Its members are the Presiding Officer and four MSPs appointed in accordance with Standing Orders.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.