Rural Policy

Purpose of the group

The purpose of the Group is to inform MSPs and the wider Scottish Parliament about issues relating to rural policies and policy-making in Scotland.

Forthcoming meetings

Next meeting:


Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Barbara Kelly 

Bill Slee 

Drew Ratter 

Norman MacAskill

Pat Neeson 

Ian Mcdonald 

Michelle Mcdonald 


Rural Policy Centre (RPC) - secretary

Scotland’s Rural College (SRUC) - secretary

Aberdeen University

Angus Council

Argyll and Bute Council

Arthouse Galleries

A Heart for Duns Development Trust


Borders Foundation for Rural Sustainability

British Association of Landscape Industries

Buccleuch Estates

Built Environment Forum Scotland

Cairngorms National Park Authority

Community Land Scotland

Citizens Advice Scotland

College Development Network

Crichton Carbon Centre

Crofting Connections

The Crown Estate Scotland

DCM Heritage

Community Transport Association

Dormont Estate

Dumfries and Galloway LEADER

Forestry Commission Scotland

Forth Valley & Lomond LEADER

Federation of Small Businesses

Glasgow Caledonian University

Here We Are Project

Heriot Watt University

Highlands and Islands Enterprise

James Hutton Institute

John Muir Trust

Keep Scotland Beautiful

Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park

Lothian Broadband Networks Limited

Marine Scotland

National Trust for Scotland

Newcastle University

Newington Communications

North Highland Initiative


PAS (formerly Planning Aid Scotland)



RSA Fellows Scotland

RSPB Scotland

Rural & Islands Housing Associations Forum


SRUC/SAC Consulting

Scottish Association of Young Farmers

Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Churches Rural Group

Scottish Countryside Alliance

Scottish Crofting Federation

Scottish Enterprise

Scottish Environment Protection Agency

Scottish Land and Estates

Scottish Natural Heritage

Scottish Pilgrim Routes Forum

Scottish Rural Action

Southern Uplands Partnership

The Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust

The Horticultural Trades Association (HTA)

The James Hutton Institute

The Stove Network, Dumfries

University of Edinburgh

University of the Highlands and Islands

University of Stirling

University of West of Scotland

Upper Quartile

Urban Animation/Dhu Rural

Whitehill Design Studios

Whitmuir Community Farm Ltd/Whitmuir Organics

Woodland Trust Scotland


Get involved

Next meeting:




Cross Party Groups and GDPR

Please note that some Cross-Party Groups have external organisations that provide secretariat support to the Group. These organisations manage your information in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requirements. The links to the privacy policies, of the organisations that have provided them to the Scottish Parliament are available on our website.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.