Purpose of the group

  • To encourage the development and extension of quality rail services for the people and economy of Scotland.
  • To ensure that rail has a high profile in the Scottish Parliament.
  • To influence Scottish Government policy on rail, including on connectivity.
  • To liaise with Transport Scotland, Network Rail, franchise holders, trades unions, rail interest groups and other such organisations to ensure that MSPs are kept up to date on matters pertaining to rail in Scotland.

Forthcoming meetings

Next meeting:



Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Stephen Young

Jim Harkins 

Janice Connelly 

Allan Maclean 

Richard Ardern 

Daniel Giblin 

Aaron McHale 

Cameron Buchanan


Scotland’s Railway - secretary

Allan Rail 

Aslef Campaign for Borders Rail 

Capital Rail Action Group 

Friends of the Far North Line 


Levenmouth Rail Campaign 

Light Rail UK 


Montrose Port Authority 


Network Rail & ScotRail (working together as Scotland’s Railway) 

Newburgh Train Station Group 

Rail Action Group East of Scotland 

Railfuture Scotland 


St Andrews Rail Link Campaign 

SWestrans Tactran 

Transform Scotland 

Transport Focus 

West Coast Rail 250 

Hitachi Rail 

Cycling Scotland 

Passenger Focus 


Get involved

Next meeting:




Cross Party Groups and GDPR

Please note that some Cross-Party Groups have external organisations that provide secretariat support to the Group. These organisations manage your information in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requirements. The links to the privacy policies, of the organisations that have provided them to the Scottish Parliament are available on our website.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.