Industrial Communities

Purpose of the group

  1. Seek to understand and highlight the range of ongoing issues affecting Scotland’s former traditional industrial communities who have experienced industrial decline over the last few decades.  Ongoing issues are likely to include youth unemployment, town centre regeneration, health inequalities, low educational attainment, regenration funding and poor environmental conditions.  The term ‘former industrial communities’ covers a range of traditional industries including coal, steel, textiles and shipbuilding. 
  2. Liaise with appropriate agencies to consider and agree appropriate ongoing interventions for these communities.
  3. Influence policy decisions of Scottish Government, local authorities and other appropriate agencies to ensure that appropriate levels of resources are deployed to former industrial communities in Scotland. 
  4. Liaise with Alliance Scotland and Alliance UK* representatives with regard to current relevant research and policy debates affecting industrial communities.
  5. Develop links with appropriate officials within UK Government as appropriate.

*The Alliance is a UK wide, all party, lobbying organization that was established in 2007 to support the regeneration of former traditional industrial areas.  Membership was formed from members of the former Coalfield Communities Campaign, Steel Action and Leading Action for Textiles, Clothing and Footwear.

NB. Alliance Scotland representatives would perform the role of Secretariat to the Cross Party Group


Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members


Industrial Communities Alliance - Secretary

Argyll and Bute Council

Clackmannanshire Council

Coalfield Communities Federation

Coalfields Regeneration Trust

Dumfries and Galloway Council

East Ayrshire Council

East Dunbartonshire Council

East Lothian Council

East Renfrewshire Council

Fife Council

Glasgow City Council

Inverclyde Council

Midlothian Council

National Union of Mineworkers

North Ayrshire Council

North Lanarkshire Council

Renfrewshire Council

South Ayrshire Council

South Lanarkshire Council

West Dunbartonshire Council

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.