Adult Learning

Purpose of the group

  • To create a much-needed space for MSPs to debate and discuss with adult learners, directly, on how best to protect and promote adult learning provision in the future and to provide an opportunity where the hopes and expectations of learners can be a driver in influencing adult learning policy.
  • To showcase how lives are being transformed through adult learning and celebrate innovation within the sector, from around Scotland and internationally.


Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Margaret Allan – Deputy-Convener

Chris Fairgrieve – Deputy-Convener

Kenny  Anderson

Mohammed  Anwar

Linda Armstrong

Senga Armstrong

Caroline Bamford

Stewart Beck

Laura Black

Fiona Boucher

May Bowie

Frances Bradley

Pat Brechin

Penny Brodie

Joanne Buchan

Peter  Cairns

Lee Callaghan

Sallie Condy

Vanessa Cousins

John Currie

Marie Dailly

Marian Docherty

Jane Duffy

Lesley Dunbar

John Ferrier

John Field

Sarah Forteath

Robert Galloway

Nicola Garman

Ed Gibbon

Gordon Giles

Craig Green

Birgit Harris

Jackie Howie

Mary Hughes

May Jenkins

Linda Judge

Sharon Keenan

Anne  Kennedy

Elizabeth Kwaw

Ian Leith

Rhonda Leith

Graham MacLellan

Rob Mark

Mairi McAuley

Alistair McDonald

Oonagh McGarry

Jim McHarg

Karen McKay

Claire McLaren

Christine McMichael

Jean Nelson

John Parkhill

Shona Paul

Vicky Petrie

Gail Phee

Dave Reid

Kenny Sharkey

Ian Shaw

Bonnie Slade

Bob Starratt

Jayne Stuart

Pauline Sutton

Graham Venters

Tracy Waddell

Miss Sophie Walker

Emma Whitelock

Clark Whyte

Mark Wild


Scotland’s Learning Partnership - Secretariat and Treasurer


Action on Hearing Loss Scotland

Age Scotland


Borders College

Bright Sparks

Buckhaven Beehive

City of Edinburgh Council

Clackmannanshire Council

College Development Network

College of Arts and Social Sciences

Colleges Scotland


Cryoe Shopmobility

Dumfries & Galloway Council

Dundee City Council

East Lothian Council

East Renfrewshire Council

Edinburgh University


Falkirk Council

Fife Council

Fife Mining Heritage

Forbes House


Glasgow Kelvin College

Glasgow Life / Communities

Inverclyde Council

Kilmarnock College

LEAD Scotland

Learning Link Scotland

Liberton High School

Media Education Ltd

Men Only Computers

Moray Council

Museums Galleries Scotland

National Learners Forum

Newbattle Abbey College

North Ayrshire Council

North Lanarkshire Council

Oats & Discovery Group

Office of Lifelong Learning

Open University in Scotland

Pagoda PR

Renfrewshire Council

School of Communities & Learner Development

Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Colleges

Scottish Funding Council

Scottish Qualifications Authority


Skills Development Scotland

South Ayrshire Council

South Lanarkshire Council

Stirling Council

Strathclyde University




The Glasgow School of Art

The Open University of Scotland

The University of St Andrews

Universities Scotland

University of Glasgow

University of Stirling

University of Strathclyde

University of the Third Age (U3A) Scotland

University of West of Scotland

WEA Scotland

West Lothian College

West Lothian Coucnil

YouthLink Scotland


This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.