Rural Policy

Purpose of the group

The purpose of the Group is to inform MSPs and the wider Scottish Parliament about issues relating to rural policies and policy-making in Scotland.


Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Barbara Kelly

Pat Neeson

Vanessa Halhead

Norman MacAskill

Drew Ratter

Roger Turner


Scotland’s Rural College (SRUC) – secretariat

Angus Council

Argyll and Bute Council

Archaeology Scotland

Arthouse Galleries


Bellenden (Independent Communications Agency)

BIG Lottery

Borders Foundation for Rural Sustainability

British Association of Landscape Industries (BALI)

Buccleuch Estates

Built Environment Forum Scotland

Cairngorms National Park Authority (CNPA)

Carnegie UK Trust


Community Land Scotland

Crown Estate

Citizens Advice Scotland (CAS)

Crichton Carbon Centre

Crichton Institute

Crofting Connections

Community Transport Association

DCM Heritage

Dormont Estate

Dumfries and Galloway LEADER

Forestry Commission Scotland

Forth Valley & Lomond LEADER

Federation of Small Businesses (FSB)

Game and Wildlife Conservation Trust

Glasgow Caledonian University

Here We Are Project

Heriot Watt University

Highlands and Islands Enterprise    (HIE)

Historic Scotland

Horticultural Trades Association (HTA)

James Hutton Institute         

John Muir Trust

Keep Scotland Beautiful

Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB)

Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park

Marine Scotland

National Trust for Scotland

National Farmers Union Scotland (NFUS)

North Highland Initiative

Planning Aid Scotland


RSA Fellows Scotland and MCICH Network

Rural & Islands Housing Associations Forum

Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society

Scotland Food and Drink Federation

Scottish Association of Young Farmers

Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Churches Rural Group

Scottish Countryside Alliance

Scottish Crofting Federation

Scottish Enterprise

Scottish Environment Protection Agency        

Scottish Government

Scottish Land & Estates

Scottish Natural Heritage         

Scottish Rural Action

Scottish Youth Parliament

Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO)

Skills Development Scotland

Southern Uplands Partnership

Stirling University

Stove Network, Dumfries


University of Aberdeen

University of Edinburgh

University of the Highlands & Islands

University of Newcastle, Institute for Social Renewal

University of West of Scotland

Upper Quartile

Urban Animation/Dhu Rural

Whitehill Design Studios         

Whitmuir Community Farm Ltd

Whitmuir Organics Limited

Woodland Trust Scotland


This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.