School children from across Scotland to take part in annual Euroquiz event


Can you name the capital city of the Republic of Macedonia? Or when Latvia joined the European Union? Or what about the nationality of footballer Robin Van Persie?

Over 120 primary six pupils will face questions like these when they gather in the Scottish Parliament’s Debating Chamber on Monday 13 May to test their knowledge of European affairs by competing in a nationwide competition.

A total of 29 teams from schools across Scotland from the Western Isles to the Borders will battle it out in the annual Euroquiz competition. The teams will field questions on a range of subjects including languages, history, culture and sport in a bid to win the top trophy prize.

Deputy Presiding Officer Elaine Smith MSP said:

“Euroquiz is a fun and interactive way for school children across Scotland to learn more about Europe, its culture, history and sport. Knowing about Scotland’s place in the world and our increasingly globalised and multicultural society is invaluable for their future. 

“I am delighted that the Scottish Parliament is hosting the final of this event and congratulate all the pupils for their hard work in preparing for today’s final.”

The Scottish European Educational Trust (SEET) has been running the quiz since 1993 and this is the sixth year the event has been held at the Scottish Parliament. The event is sponsored by the European Parliament and also the Scottish Government.

Minister for Learning Alasdair Allan MSP said:

“I’d like to warmly congratulate all the teams who have reached the national final of the 2013 Euroquiz. This quiz is a great opportunity for our young people to learn more about European history, culture and languages.”

Each of the 29 Scottish schools taking part in the quiz have already won their local authority heat and will be competing against the winners of all the other heats in the final. The event will be broadcast live on the Parliament’s website at – - allowing pupils from the all schools around the country to watch and support their friends.


Photographs of the event will be available from the Scottish Parliament’s official photographer Andrew Cowan, who can be contacted on or 0131 348 5878.

The 29 Scottish primary schools taking part in Euroquiz 2013 are:

  • Aberdeen City – St Peter’s Primary School
  • Aberdeenshire – Kellands Primary 
  • Angus – Timmergreens Primary School
  • Argyll & Bute – Hermitage Primary School 
  • Clackmannanshire – Strathdevon Primary School
  • Dumfries and Galloway – Lochmaben Primary School
  • Dundee – Barnhill Primary School
  • East Ayrshire – Nether Robertland Primary School
  • East Dunbartonshire – Bearsden Primary School
  • East Lothian – Law Primary School
  • East Renfrewshire – Our Lady of the Missions Primary School
  • Edinburgh – Blackhall Primary School
  • Falkirk – Kinnaird Primary School
  • Fife – Newport Primary School
  • Glasgow – Glasgow Academy
  • Highlands – Cradlehall Primary School
  • Inverclyde – St John’s Primary School
  • Midlothian – Bonnyrigg Primary School
  • Moray – Applegrove Primary School
  • North Ayrshire – West Kilbride Primary School
  • North Lanarkshire – St Joseph’s Primary School
  • Renfrewshire – Bridge of Weir Primary School
  • Scottish Borders – St Ronan’s Primary School,
  • South Ayrshire – Alloway Primary School
  • South Lanarkshire – St Leonard’s Primary School
  • Stirling – Bridge of Allan Primary School
  • West Dunbartonshire – St Mary’s (Duntocher) Primary School
  • West Lothian – St John Ogilvie Primary School
  • Western Isles – Stornoway Primary School

Last year the Euroquiz was won by St Mary’s Duntocher from West Dumbartonshire, with Bearsden in East Dumbartonshire in second place and Cairneyhill Primary School in Fife and West Kilbride Primary School in North Aryshire in joint third place.

Members of the media who would like to attend the quiz can watch from the media gallery in the Parliament's Debating Chamber.

The Scottish European Educational Trust (SEET) is a registered charity established in 1993 which aims to promote and encourage education about Europe to students at schools, colleges and universities throughout Scotland.

The first Euroquiz for Primary 6 pupils was run in Edinburgh and the Lothians in 1993 as a joint event between SEET and the City of Edinburgh Council Education Department.

Contact information

Media information

Public information

  • Telephone enquiry line: 0800 092 7500 or 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)
  • Text 07786 209 888
  • Ask a question online through live chat
  • We also welcome calls using the Text Relay service or in British Sign Language through contactSCOTLAND-BSL

Keep up to date with us on:

keep up to date with what's happening in Parliament on Facebook Follow the Scottish Parliament on Twitter @ScotParl keep up to date with what's 
happening in Parliament on YouTube

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.