New Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body elected


Parliament today elected four Members to serve on the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB).

The SPCB considers and makes decisions on a wide range of issues to do with the running of the Parliament . These include the financing of the Parliament and allocation of the budget, the staffing of the parliament, accommodation and the use and security of parliamentary facilities at Holyrood. It also includes supporting MSPs in their local offices and activities to open up the Parliament and engage with the public.

Elections for the membership of the SPCB took place in Holyrood’s Debating Chamber at 11.30am this morning, when MSPs elected the following candidates: Linda Fabiani MSP, Liam McArthur MSP, Mary Scanlon MSP and David Stewart MSP.

The Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick MSP, who will chair the new SPCB, said:

“I know from experience the important role the SPCB plays in ensuring the Parliament can function efficiently and effectively. Sometimes there are difficult decisions to make but I know we will all work together to ensure we are able to offer a responsive service to MSPs and the people of Scotland.”

Linda Fabiani, MSP for East Kilbride, said: “Parliament belongs to the people and it is our job to respond to their needs. In the SPCB we must make sure that our Parliament is accessible and accountable.”

Liam McArthur MSP for Orkney Islands, said: “The principle job of the Corporate Body is to make sure that MSPs can do their job effectively - that will be my first priority.”

Mary Scanlon MSP for Highlands and Islands, added: “I look forward to ensuring cost effective and high quality services for the whole Parliament and visitors to the Parliament.”

David Stewart MSP for Highlands and Islands, added: “Supporting Members, motivating staff and developing the accessibility of Parliament for the public are all my key goals.”


The Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB) is the statutory body also known as the ‘Parliamentary Corporation’, which performs various functions, as set out in the Scotland Act 1998, including arranging for the provision of the Parliament’s staff, property and services.

Its members are the Presiding Officer and four MSPs, appointed in accordance with Standing Orders.

Members of the media should contact:
Ann Donald: 0131 348 5605 RNID TypeTalk calls welcome

For public information enquiries, contact:
Telephone: 0131 348 5000 / 0800 092 7500 (Public Enquiries) / 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)
Textphone users can contact us on 0800 092 7100. We also welcome calls using the RNID Typetalk service. Email:

You can now get in touch with the Parliament by text message. Our interactive service enables you to get the name of your MSP by sending your postcode, lets you ask questions about the Parliament and its work, and enables you to request a selection of free leaflets. The number to take advantage of is 07786 209888. Texts are charged at standard network rates. More details can be found on our Text Service page

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.